I was debating whether to save my favorite composer till the end of the week, but I just couldn’t help myself.

Over the course of this blog, I have gushed several times about how I am conceived that Jeremy Soule is one of the best composers in not just the business today, but in history.

A bold statement, but when you look at the sheer volume and quality of music he has produced by the age of 38, you’ll be hard pressed to argue.

To me, Jeremy Soule is the embodiment of the idea that “a video game is not complete without a strong soundtrack to back it up.”  His works are powerful, moving, and enjoyable.

My first encounter with Mr. Soule’s music was during the days of Morrrowind.  His haunting music traveled with me as I roamed the wilderness of Morrowind.  No matter where I was, or what I was doing, I felt as though I was on a truly epic adventure, even if my current quest was simply to buy a book from man to give it to another.  The music was perfect and every time I listen to those songs, I am teleported back into Morrowind and filled with the sense of wonder I felt all those years ago.

I’m gushing again, sorry.

Below are three of my favorites from Jeremy Soule’s older works.  I didn’t include anything about Skyrim in this post because I have already posted enough about the awesome soundtrack that game has.

I hope you enjoy today’s music.

The first is the main theme from Morrowind.

The second is the main theme from Icewind Dale.

The third and finale piece today is from Guild Wars Prophecies.